Why don’t people understand my name?!!!

I know.. that HALEY is a name here…
One of my flat mates even bought me a little jandel from a market, with my name spelt correctly on it…
image

Which is actually quite an amazing thing, because in New Zealand no one will spell my name without an additional ‘Y’ smacked right into the middle of it.. (Hayley. .. ewwwww).

But here! Even though they know how to spell the name right… they just can’t get it!
What is it about the New Zealand accent that completely obscures the sound of the letter ‘A’ in our speech?!
Because every time I order a coffee here, the poor, lost and disoriented service person behind the counter, somehow ends up having to take a guess at what it is that I am trying to say…

And the most common guess… is Kylie.
… what?!. What the actual…!?.. How!

And today…
image
Hinely….
Really Canada. Really?

2 thoughts on “Why don’t people understand my name?!!!

I love other people's opinions too..

